Utah Adventures – Part 2, Bryce Canyon National Park

On a very cold Black Friday morning, Dave and I rose very early and met with our photo guides for the Day, David and Eric of Action Photo Tours out of Kanab, Utah.  Our mission, instead of shopping, was to capture Bryce Canyon at Sunrise.  And capture it we did.  The picture above was taken on the hike down into the Amphitheater.  Note the scale of the canyon walls when compared to members of our photo tour.  The sweeping majesty of this National Park is awe-inspiring.

bryce-canyon-ampitheater

We arrived at the Amphitheater just at sunrise that morning.  And it was a very cold morning at about 9 degrees F.  I didn’t even notice the cold (I was bundled up pretty well in layers of appropriate clothing) when I spied the view with the sun just coming up over the southeastern rim.  But in the picture I took below, you can sense the cold.

cold-morning-in-bryce

Once we took some sunrise pictures of the top of the Amphitheater, we took the Navajo Trail loop down into the Amphitheater and was treated to a better view of the iconic Thor’s Hammer.

bryce-thors-hammer

And here is a picture I took of my husband Dave shooting while getting instruction and tips from Eric.

bryce-sunrise-photo-class

David and Eric of Action Photo Tours were wonderful.  Their insight, suggestions, instruction were spot on for both of us and I would highly recommend taking a photography tour with them.  It was an unforgettable visit to Bryce Canyon.

sunrise-bryce-canyon

And sunrise in Bryce Canyon is not to be missed.

Leave a comment